Federal National Mortgage Assctn Fnni Me (OTCMKTS:FNMA) has elected George W. Haywood to the firm’s Board. He has been selected in the Compensation Committee and the Strategic plans and Technology Committee. Haywood joins Board that will assist guide company as it fulfills its objective to offer access to safe, reasonable mortgage financing in the U.S.

The experts speak

Egbert L.J. Perry, the Chairman of the Board, said that they are pleased to welcome Haywood to Federal National Board of Directors. With his broad investment experience in technology and finance and his keen ability to develop and identify emerging business prospects, Haywood bring actionable and valuable insights to company.

Timothy J. Mayopoulos, the CEO, said that Haywood is another remarkable addition to their exceptional Board. Throughout his career he has shown diverse entrepreneurial talents, strong leadership qualities and clear financial prowess, complementing those of his competitors on the Board. They are thrilled to leverage Haywood’s passion for helping firms to advance and succeed as they fulfill their commitment to be the U.S.’s most valued housing associate. Federal National will benefit from his advice as they continue to emphasis on serving their clients, expanding opportunities for renters and homeowners and addressing today’s critical housing challenges.

Haywood has been a private investor since 1998. Prior from that, from 1994 to 1998, Haywood served as the Director of Corporate & High Yield Bond Investments for a hedge fund management company. Before that, from 1982 to 1994, Haywood was associated with Lehman Brothers, primarily as a corporate bond trader, then Managing Director, corporate bond trading head, and then as MD and proprietary trader.

Haywood has considerable experience as a financial entrepreneur. He is presently a member of the Denny’s Corporation board, where he is a part of the Audit and Finance Committee. Haywood was earlier an affiliate of the XM Satellite Radio Holdings Inc. Board of Directors from 2004 to 2006.